Workshops

Want to try out the movements and methods of the festival choreographers for yourself? Our workshop programme makes it possible. With different main focuses, festival artists invite you to get to know their working methods directly and physically.

GROOVES + MOVES
SEBASTIAN WEBER

Fri. 5.11. | 7 pm
Hessisches Staatstheater Wiesbaden – Ballettsaal


For participants with no previous experience.
Please bring shoes with leather soles.
Length: 120 min. In German

In the GROOVES + MOVES workshop, Sebastian Weber invites participants with no previous experience to experience the kick of tap-dancing. Using simple steps, we will feel the effect of beats and off-beats, tap into the archaic forces of rhythm and movement and find a special balance of concentration and flow, of connection and individuality. Central ideas of the tap dance tradition will be conveyed, such as the role of “time steps” and the close relationship to jazz.

The workshop is perfect for people who like to move and want to feel for themselves how it feels to create rhythm with their own body and thus synchronise with others.

Movement Lab for Parents & Children
RAIMONDA GUDAVIČIŪTĖ & ELIAS HAUN

Sat 6.11. | 3 pm
Staatstheater Darmstadt – Ballettsaal


For parents & children (6-9 years)
No dance experience necessary
Length: 120 min.
In German.

This workshop is an offer for parents to spend time with their child in a playful environment where movement is the main tool of communication. Various playful tasks are designed to stimulate the child’s imagination and to strengthen their body awareness. Raimonda Gudavičiūtė and her eight-year-old son Elias invite participants to deal with everyday movement patterns in a playful way and to discover how many more possibilities there are beyond familiar movement patterns like walking, running or playing football. A space full of freedom is created that awakens the adventurous spirit of children and parents. Together, the participants embark on an unknown, creative journey of imagination where there are many new things to discover about ourselves and our world.

Fundamentals of Physically Integrated Dance
AXIS DANCE COMPANY

Wed 10.11. | 7 pm
Staatstheater Darmstadt – Ballettsaal


Length: 90 Min.
In English with German translation

The workshop offers a unique opportunity to get to know the basic working methods of the AXIS Dance Company in person. The company is one of the best-known ensembles for dancers with and without disabilities in the USA and has developed its very own movement practice that focuses on the physical conditions and abilities of its members and at the same time expands them. AXIS dancers will teach the basics of this "Physically Integrated Dance" based on improvisation, creative movement instructions and modern dance techniques. The focus lies on exploring a variety of movement approaches. The workshop is aimed at adults with and without physical disabilities, with and without dance experience.

Workshops

Die Bewegungen und Methoden der Festivalchoreograf*innen einmal selbst ausprobieren? Unser Workshopprogramm macht es möglich. Mit unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten laden Festivalkünstler*innen ein, ihre Arbeitsweisen unmittelbar körperlich kennenzulernen.

GROOVES + MOVES
SEBASTIAN WEBER

Fr. 5.11. | 19 Uhr
Hessisches Staatstheater Wiesbaden – Ballettsaal

 

Für Teilnehmer*innen ohne Vorkenntnisse. Bitte Schuhe mit Ledersohlen mitbringen.
Dauer: 120 Min.
In deutscher Sprache

Im Workshop GROOVES + MOVES lädt Sebastian Weber Teilnehmer*innen ohne Vorkenntnisse ein, den Kick des Steptanzes zu erfahren. Anhand von einfachen Schritten spüren wir die Wirkung von Beats und Off-Beats, zapfen die archaischen Kräfte von Rhythmus und Bewegung an und finden eine besondere Balance aus Konzentration und Flow, aus Verbindung und Individualität. Dabei werden zentrale Ideen der Steptanz-Tradition vermittelt, wie zum Beispiel die Rolle von „Time Steps“ und die enge Verwandtschaft zum Jazz.

Der Workshop ist perfekt für Leute, die sich gern bewegen und selbst spüren wollen, wie es sich anfühlt, mit dem eigenen Körper Rhythmus zu erzeugen und sich so mit anderen zu synchronisieren.

Bewegungslabor für Eltern & Kind
RAIMONDA GUDAVIČIŪTĖ & ELIAS HAUN

Sa. 6.11. | 15 Uhr
Staatstheater Darmstadt – Ballettsaal


Für Eltern & Kinder (6–9 Jahre), keine Tanzerfahrungen notwendig
Dauer: 120 Min.
In deutscher Sprache

Dieser Workshop ist ein Angebot für Eltern, Zeit mit ihrem Kind in einer spielerischen Umgebung zu verbringen, in der die Bewegung das Hauptinstrument der Kommunikation ist. Verschiedene spielerische Aufgaben sollen die Fantasie des Kindes anregen und sein Körperbewusstsein stärken. Raimonda Gudavičiūtė und ihr achtjähriger Sohn Elias laden ein, mit alltäglichen Bewegungsmustern spielerisch umzugehen und zu entdecken, wie viel mehr Möglichkeiten es gibt, die über die bekannten Bewegungsmuster wie Gehen, Laufen oder Fußballspielen hinausgehen. Dabei wird ein Raum voller Freiheit geschaffen, der die Abenteuerlust von Kindern und Eltern weckt. Gemeinsam begeben sich die Teilnehmer*innen auf eine unbekannte, kreative Reise der Vorstellungskraft, auf der es viele neue Dinge über uns und unsere Welt zu entdecken gibt.

Fundamentals of Physically Integrated Dance
AXIS DANCE COMPANY

Mi. 10.11. | 19 Uhr
Staatstheater Darmstadt – Ballettsaal


Dauer: 90 Min.
In englischer Sprache mit deutscher Übersetzung

Der Workshop bietet die einmalige Gelegenheit, die grundlegende Arbeitsweise der AXIS Dance Company persönlich kennenzulernen. Die Kompanie zählt zu den bekanntesten Ensembles für Tänzer*innen mit und ohne Behinderung in den USA und hat eine ganz eigene Bewegungspraxis entwickelt, die die physischen Voraussetzungen und Fähigkeiten ihrer Mitglieder ins Zentrum stellt und diese zugleich erweitert. Auf der Basis von Improvisation, kreativen Bewegungsanleitungen und Modern-Dance-Techniken werden AXIS-Tänzer*innen Grundlagen dieses „Physically Integrated Dance“ vermitteln. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf der Erforschung vielfältiger Bewegungsansätze. Der Workshop richtet sich an Erwachsene mit und ohne körperliche Behinderung, mit und ohne tänzerische Erfahrungen.